Next #geowebchat: The Geoweb and the Internet Off Switch

Guest host: Johnathan Rush (@rushgeo)

The Internet has gone dark in Syria, and it’s not the first time that a regime has limited or eliminated access to the Internet. In Syria, the outage is likely intended to limit the ability of rebels to communicate and for dissent to foment. We saw both total Internet outages and targeted outages of social media in Libya and Egypt last year as well. State-curtailed Internet access is hardly limited to conflict zones, however, and China’s censorship of particular issues and websites are frequently covered and speculated upon.

What does all this mean for the geoweb? How are rebels and protesters affected by a loss of access to the geoweb, and how does their loss of access affect outsiders’ knowledge of their conflict? Join the #geowebchat on Tuesday 12/4 for a discussion of what happens to the geoweb when the state hits the “off” switch. If you’ve got an Internet connection, join us on Twitter at 12pm PST / 3pm EST / 8pm GMT.

This entry was posted in geowebchat, Networks. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>