Monthly Archives: February 2013

#geowebchat transcript, 19 February 2013

[Note: for this chat Muki Haklay posted the full text of his article “Neogeography and the delusion of democratisation” as a Google Document. Unfortunately, Muki was only able to publicly share the article for teaching purposes associated with the #geowebchat. Now that the chat is over, the article is no longer available at the link […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment

#geowebchat transcript, 5 February 2013

@mappingmashups Feb 04, 11:20am Next #geowebchat: Does the geoweb need neogeographers? mappingmashups.net/2013/02/04/nex… Join us Tues Feb 5 at 12pm PST, 3pm EST, 8pm GMT. Please RT! @mappingmashups 10:05am Reminder: #geowebchat today 12pm PST: “Does the geoweb need geographers?” Correction, NOT “Does geoweb need NEOgeographers” (freudian slip!) @mappingmashups 12:01pm Our topic is “Does the geoweb need […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment

Next #geowebchat: Does the geoweb need geographers?

In our next chat, we will be discussing the role of geographers (here defined as academically or professionally trained) with respect to neogeography and the geoweb. The bulk of software and data on the geoweb has been created by “neogeographers” who do not have any traditional training in geography, with some neogeographers expressing outright distain […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment