Monthly Archives: September 2013

Next #geowebchat, October 1: Techniques and conventions for geoweb cartography

In honor of the upcoming annual conference of the North American Cartographic Information Society (NACIS), our next #geowebchat will focus on the unique challenges of making maps for the geoweb. In what ways can geoweb maps follow the same cartographic conventions as printed maps, and in what ways must they differ? In some cases, such […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping | Leave a comment

#geowebchat transcript, 17 September 2013: Diversity in geoweb communities

@mappingmashups Sep 17, 10:03am Today, noon PT, 3pm ET, 8pm BST: we’re talking about diversity on the #geoweb. Join the conversation on #geowebchat! mappingmashups.net/2013/09/16/nex… @jgieseking Sep 17, 11:48am How do different kinds of diversity manifest (or fail to manifest) on the #geoweb? Tune into #geowebchat at 3pm US EST for the chat. I’m in! @mappingmashups […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment

Next #geowebchat: diversity in geoweb communities

In our next #geowebchat (on Tuesday September 17) we will discuss diversity on the geoweb, and in particular the online communities that create geospatial data and tools on the web. What are the problems that result from lack of diversity, how did the situation get this way, and what can be done to improve it? […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment