Next #geowebchat, November 19/20: Crisis mapping and Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda

In the next #geowebchat twitter chat, we will be discussing the crisis mapping efforts related to Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda. Here are a few news reports and blog posts that reveal the depth and diversity of the humanitarian mapping efforts that are currently underway:

If you have participated in any mapping related to the typhoon, you are particularly encouraged to join the chat to share your experiences. If you haven’t participated yet, there are still many mapping tasks that need volunteers. Why don’t you try taking on some of the Humanitarian OpenStreetMap Team tasks before or during #geowebchat?

The chat will begin at the usual time: 12pm Pacific Standard Time on Tuesday November 19. This equates to 3pm Eastern Standard Time, and 20:00 GMT. Unfortunately, this means that #geowebchat begins at 4AM Philippines time. Therefore, to make sure that residents of the Philippines can participate, this #geowebchat will continue for 24 hours, until 12pm PST on Wednesday November 20. If you can’t join the kickoff during the first hour of the chat, you are welcome to drop in and out of the conversation at any time during that 24 hour period.

To participate in the chat (or simply follow along), follow the hashtag #geowebchat on twitter. To join the conversation, make sure you include “#geowebchat” in your tweets. You may also want to include the hashtag #YolandaPH and/or #Haiyan.

For more information about geowebchat, and to read transcripts of previous chats, go here: http://mappingmashups.net/geowebchat.

Please forward this invitation to anyone who might be interested. Looking forward to chatting with you!

This entry was posted in geowebchat, Mapping. Bookmark the permalink. Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*

You may use these HTML tags and attributes <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>