Monthly Archives: October 2014

Next #geowebchat, Nov 4: Diversity of those studying and doing the Geoweb

Guest hosted by Jessi Breen (@jessibreen) and Jim Thatcher (@alogicalfallacy). Special time: 2 pm PST, 5pm EST, 22:00 GMT, on Tuesday, November 4, 2014. Diversity of those studying and doing the Geoweb There has been much discussion recently on the limits of Geoweb data, on the gaps in knowledge that inherently arise in the production […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment

#geowebchat transcript, 21 October 2014: #OpenSource, #OpenData, and accessibility

@mappingmashups Oct 20, 5:40pm Tomorrow on #geowebchat: Topic is #OpenSource, #OpenData, as well as “free” and accessible tools (often not the same thing). 12pm PT, Oct 21 @mapperz Oct 21, 9:46am @mappingmashups freegisdata.rtwilson.com lists #accessible GIS datasets updated 11th October 2014 #geowebchat @mappingmashups Oct 21, 12:00pm Welcome everybody to today’s #geowebchat. We’re talking about #OpenSource, […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment

#geowebchat transcript, 7 October 2014: The geoweb and time

@mappingmashups Oct 05, 5:32pm Next #geowebchat topic: “The Geoweb and Time”, inspired by theme for #NACIS2014. Join us 12pm PDT, 3pm EDT, 20:00 BST, Tue Oct 7. Pls RT! @TheMapSmith Oct 07, 5:06am Driving to #nacis2014 during #geowebchat, so heres a great article by @kennethfield about Esri’s carto-temporal tools blogs.esri.com/esri/esri-insi… @kennethfield Oct 07, 5:39am Saves […]

Posted in geowebchat, Mapping, Networks | Leave a comment

OpenStreetMap and the Ada Initiative #osm4ada

Thanks to Kathleen Danielson, there is now an OpenStreetMap community campaign to donate money to the Ada Initiative. The Ada Initiative is a group doing important work supporting women in open technology and culture, and it would be great to see more connections between OpenStreetMap and Ada. To donate to the #osm4ada campaign, click on […]

Posted in Mapping, Networks, not_geowebchat | 1 Response

AAG 2015 CFP: OpenStreetMap Studies: Research Perspectives on a Decade of OSM

Muki Haklay and I are organizing a session at AAG 2015 about “OpenStreetMap Studies”, inspired by his recent blog post: “OpenStreetMap studies (and why VGI not equal OSM)” You can read our full CFP here: AAG 2015 CFP: OpenStreetMap Studies: Research Perspectives on a Decade of OSM. Submissions are due October 31!

Posted in Mapping, Networks, not_geowebchat | Leave a comment