#geowebchat: A twitter chat for critical discussion of the geospatial web

Please join us at the hashtag #geowebchat on the first and third Tuesdays of the month at 12:00 pm PDT (15:00 EDT, 20:00 BST) for a twitter discussion of all things geoweb. Topics include (but are not limited to) the geospatial web, neogeography, Volunteered Geographic Information (VGI), mapping mashups, virtual globes, ubiquitous computing, locative media and location-based services. We also discuss the broader subjects of social networking, wikis, crowdsourcing and more from a geographical perspective. How do these phenomena impact society, for better or for worse? What are the implications for culture and politics, privacy and empowerment? How can we make the geoweb a better place?

We are mostly academics, students, and other researchers in the field of geospatial technology, but everyone is welcome to join the discussion. Our goal is to share ideas, perspectives and theories with each other that will us help advance our research and become more engaged and informed citizens of the geoweb. If you like thinking about the implications of the geoweb, this is the chat for you! Your input will help shape how the discussion evolves.

We look forward to chatting with you at #geowebchat!

If you want to sign up to guest-host an upcoming chat, add your name to this Google Doc: #geowebchat hosting schedule. Also, read this guide to hosting a #geowebchat.

Upcoming chats will be announced on the geoweb-r mailing list, and in the geowebchat iCal feed: [click to add feed to your calendar program]

Scroll down to read the transcripts of previous geowebchats.

Transcripts of previous chats:

2011

July 26 What is the geoweb?
August 2 When does free labor become exploitation?
August 9 Anonymity on the geoweb
August 16 Can participation be sustained? Guest host: Peter A. Johnson
August 23 How is control exerted over the geoweb? Guest hosts: Ryan Burns and Joe Eckert
September 20 “free” and “open” on the geoweb
October 4 Activism, social change, and revolution
October 18 Geoweb cartography
November 1 Google Maps API begins charging for use
November 15 Geoweb tools
December 6 Review of 2011, predictions for 2012

2012

January 10 How do we teach the geoweb?
January 24 Geoweb cartography redux
February 7 The geoweb and our relationship to place
February 21 Urban geoweb / rural geoweb
March 6 Geoweb vs GIScience: two “tribes” or a field in tension?
March 20 The embodied ways the geoweb gets made (and taught)
April 3 Geosocial networking and gender
April 17 Geosocial networking: privacy and consent
May 1 Is the map a useful metaphor for the geoweb? Guest host: Renee Sieber
May 15 Pedagogies of the geoweb. Guest host: Andrew Shears
June 5 iVGI: Involuntary Geographic Information
June 19 Review of the “SheepCamp” unconference on Big and User-Generated Geographic Data
July 3 Disciplinary perspectives on the geoweb
July 17 ESRI and GeoIQ: Strange Bedfellows?
August 7 Critiques of “big data”. Guest host: Ryan Burns
August 21 Balloon mapping and DIY remote sensing
September 4 CANCELLED
September 18 Discussion of the virtual issue of Transactions about GIScience (SPECIAL TIME: 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm BST). Guest host: Muki Haklay
October 2 AAG CFP discussion: How should VGI be conceptualized? Guest host: Britta Ricker
October 16 AAG CFP discussion: Digital Divides, Digital Domination, and Digital Divisions of Labour (SPECIAL TIME: 11am PT, 2pm ET, 7pm BST). Guest hosts: Monica Stephens and Mark Graham
November 6 Electoral geography and the geoweb
November 20 Crowdsourcing and Ushahidi. Guest host: Ana Brandusescu
December 4 The Geoweb and the Internet Off Switch. Guest host: Johnathan Rush
December 18 The top stories of 2012 and predictions for 2013

2013

January 8 Mapping the gun control debate
January 22 Geoweb ethics Guest host: Andrew Shears
February 5 Does the geoweb need geographers?
February 19 Neogeography and the delusion of democratization Guest host: Muki Haklay (SPECIAL TIME: 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm GMT)
March 5 Mapping -sheds and -footprints. Guest host: Eric Theise (SPECIAL TIME AGAIN: 1pm PT, 4pm ET, 9pm GMT)
March 19 Hackathons: what are they good for?
April 2 Between the Parrot and the Predator: civilian and military drones
April 16 AAG / IronSheep debrief
May 7 ‘That sh1t is hard to teach!’ Getting our colleagues to appreciate challenges of teaching the geoweb. Guest host: Renee Sieber
May 21 Personalized maps and the “filter bubble”
June 4: Teaching the Geoweb II: MOOCs and teaching online
June 18: CyberGIS and the Geoweb. Guest host: Agnieszka Leszczynski
July 2: Social reputation/credibility and the Geoweb. Guest host: Nazila Merati
July 16: The new “Image of the City”: visualizing geolocated photos
August 6: Near real-time satellite imagery. Guest host: Bill Morris
August 20: Geoweb pedagogy outside the academy
September 3: CANCELLED
September 17: Diversity in geoweb communities
October 1: Techniques and conventions for geoweb cartography
October 15 Form vs function in web cartography
November 5 Are we entering an age of democratized maps?
November 19 Crisis mapping and Typhoon Haiyan/Yolanda
December 3 Geoweb tribes redux
December 17 Year end review: #topgeostoryof2013
January 7 What does 2014 hold for the geoweb?
January 21 What next for the MSc in GIS? Guest host: Claire Ellul
February 4 Open Data and the geoweb. Guest host: @geothinkca
February 18 Lifelogging and the geoweb. Guest host: Renee Sieber.
March 4 Our favorite maps / favorite apps
March 18 Paid contributions in open data projects. Guest host: Matthew McKenna

UPCOMING CHATS:

April 1
April 15
May 6
May 20